The Three Rules of Economics

(copyright Fred Curtis)

1. Everything has a name.

2. The answer is where the lines cross.

3. All the jokes are bad.



Fred Curtis is Professor of Economics and Environmental Studies at Drew University where he has been teaching since 1979. He earned a B.A. in Economics from Haverford College (1973) and an M.A. and Ph.D. in Economics from the University of Massachusetts in Amherst (1976, 1983).

Fred’s current research concerns (1) the economics of rebuilding local and regional community economies as a response to peak oil and (2) the impact of global warming and peak oil on globalization. His published works include articles on the economics of apartheid South Africa, teaching about homelessness, the economics of liberal arts colleges, and – more recently – eco-local economies and economic issues related to peak oil and global warming. Fred is also interested in the issue of values in economics and the connection of Buddhist ideas to economics.

Fred teaches several courses in the area of environmental economics, including (1) Environmental Economics, (2) Economics of Business and Environmental Sustainability, (3) Economics of Climate Change and Peak Oil and (4) Consumption, Economics, Well-being and Environment. Fred also teaches the popular Corporations in Context course in the Business Studies major and a core course in the Environmental Studies and Sustainability major: Environment, Society and Sustainability.  He is interested in developing new pedagogical techniques, particularly in the area of contemplative learning and mindfulness.

Currently, Fred is working on environmental sustainability issues as chair of the Drew University Sustainability Committee. He is particularly concerned with lowering the greenhouse gas emissions of Drew University. Fred has given many presentations on environmental and energy issues and their economic impacts to both professional and community groups.

In 2005, Fred Curtis was honored with the Distinguished Teaching Award of the College of Liberal Arts. In 2008, he was given the Student Recognition Award as Outstanding Faculty Member.